Home       Know More       Gallery       Credits       Site Info      Disclaimer      Privacy Policy   

Kerala Temples

Ayyappa Temples

Bhagavathy Temples

Dhanwanthari Temples

Hanuman Temples

Lakshmana Temples

Mariyamman Temples

Muruga Temples

Naga Temples

Narasimha Temples

Pandavas Temples

Siva Temples

Sreerama Temples

Vinayaka Temples

Vishnu Temples

Vishnu Maya Temples

Other's Temples


Narasimha (Narasimham)


Image of Narasimha

Lord Narasimha is fourth incarnation of Lord Maha Vishnu. Narasimha is in the form of Half Man and Half Lion, and is considered as the most ugra form of Vishnu's form. This form is having a human-like torso and a lower body, but with a lion-like face and claws with ugra form. He is believed as protector of devotees all the time. Lord Narasimha took birth on earth to demolish Hiranyakashipu, the cruel asura who was considered Lord Vishnu as his moral enemy. He was brother of Hiranyaksha, the asura who was killed by Vishnu. Hiranyakashipu, thus challenging Vishnu and decided to kill vishnu's followers. He was torturing all of devas and his own villagers those are worshipping vishnu. He was forcing all of them to worship him, instead of Vishnu. His son, Prahlada was one of the devotees of Vishnu. Hiranyakashipu started challenging lord vishnu and threatening the world by his evil acts. Since he found his son himself with Vishnu's side, he decided to kill his son. Whenever he tries to kill his son, Lord vishnu was protecting him with his maya. Hiranyakashipu with utter anger asked Prahlada to show his lord. He said, Lord vishnu is in every where, even in the pillar right besides him. He thrashed the pillar into pieces and challenged him. Lord Narasimha came out from the pillar and killed the asura demon.

Ugra Narasimha, Krodha Narasimha, Malola Narasimha, Jwala Narasimha, Varaha Narasimha, Bhargava Narasimha, Karanja Narasimha, Yoga Narasimha, Lakshmi Narasimha, Chhatravata Narasimha / Pavana Narasimha / Pamuleti Narasimha are the main narasimha deities, known as "Navanarasimha".


List of Narasimha Temples

Anentheswara narasimham    
Anara narasimham    
Aymanam narasimham Kottayam Aymanathu Valiyachan
Anayadi pazhayidam narasimham Pathanamthitta  
Chathankulangara narasimham    
Chitenkkara narasimham    
Cheriyathu narasimham    
Chelakkara narasimham    
Edayoor narasimham    
Eroor narasimham    
Jayanthrakrikovu narasimham    
Kadungoor narasimham    
Karukaputhur narasimham    
Kalamkangathoor narasimham    
Kadamuri narasimham    
Kodakkattu narasimha moorthy Malappuram  
Kolathur appan narasimham    
Kunjallur sree narasimhaswamy Calicut  
Manakkadu narasimham    
Mannathu narasimham    
Mattam narasimham    
Manganam narasimham    
Marathrikka narasimham    
Muriyamangalam narasimham Ernakulam  
Mulanthuruthy poothrikovil maha vishnu   Narasimham
Naduvannoor narasimham    
Peruva narasimham    
Puthumanassery sree narasimham Thrissur  
Ramamangalam perumthrikkovil   Bala narasimham
Rishinaradamangalam narasimham    
Salagramam narasimham    
Thiruvangoor narasimham   Parthasarathy
Thiruvazhiyodu narasimham    
Thuravoor narasimham Alappuzha Sudharasam
Thrikkayil narasimham    
Thrikoyikkal narasimham Kollam  
Varavattur narasimham    
Valiyakunnu narasimham    
Vazhenkkada narasimham    
Vellikulangara narasimham