Prathishta / Presiding Deity : Muruga
Upadevatha / Sub Deities : xx
District: Kannur
Thaluk: xx
Panchayath: xx
Thanthri: xx
Trustee: xx

The presiding deity in this temple is Lord Subrahmanyan.The temple is one of the three most important 'Maha Subrahmanya' temples in South India. Lord Parashurama, Lord Vinayaka, Lord Ayyappa, Sree Bhoothathar and Sree Kanya Bhagavathy- the virgin goddess Parvati are the sub deities in this temple. Its believed that the temple is built by Lord 'Parasurama'. Later it was destroyed two times -one because of fire and other because of the attack of 'Tippu Sulthan'. Then it was re-constructed in 1792AD. The idol of Lord Muruga here is 6 feet tall.

This temple is known as the 'Palani' of Kerala. There are five 'poojas' and three 'Siveli's on each day.

Important Festivals

'Aaradhana Mahotsavam' and 'Thripputhari' are the main festivals celebrated in this temple. The 'Aaradhana Mahotsavam' is a 14 days festival, which starts in the malayalam month 'Vrischikam'.Its celebrated from Vrischikam 1st to 14th.'Thriputhari' is the harvest festival.The anniversary of reinstallation of idol(Punaprathishtadinam) is also celebrated every year grandly, on the month medam.

Main offerings


Pooja Timings

The "palliyunarthal at 3:30
Routine functions starts at 4:00
Closes after 'Ucha pooja' at 12:00
Evening opens at 5:00
Closes at night at 9:00



How to reach


Temple Photo Gallery


Additional Information